Importance of Awareness

Focusing on the shame and discrimination surrounding mental health, health professionals and everyone, even people who do not feel concerned by such diseases need to rise to the challenge posed by mental and brain disorders. In that spirit, an initiative aiming at motivating people to better understand the disease and its effects on society was initiated by the World Health Organization who has selected as theme for World Health Day 7 April 2001: Mental Health. More initiatives should be originated throughout the globe, as you may know the world’s population is ageing.

Statistics indicate that there are currently an estimated 24 million people in the world with dementia. More than 66% of those people live in developing countries. The numbers are increasing more and more every year, by 2025 the above figure is expected to rise to nearly 75%. In 22 years, 34 million people will have dementia.

Some statistics refer to almost 30,000 cases of Alzheimer’s disease in Lebanon. Awareness must be induced in all societies; silence surrounding mental diseases should be broken before it is too late.In the United States, national direct and indirect annual costs of caring for individuals with Alzheimer’s disease are at least $100 billion, according to estimates used by the Alzheimer’s Association and the National Institute on Aging.Alzheimer’s disease costs American business $61 billion a year, according to a report commissioned by the Alzheimer’s Association. Of that figure, $24.6 billion covers Alzheimer health care and $36.5 billion covers costs related to caregivers of individuals with Alzheimer’s disease, including lost productivity, absenteeism and worker replacement.

What about the developing countries, where dementia is the most frequent? More efforts should be set off, we need to rise to the challenge and prepare our societies to face mental disorders like Alzheimer’s disease with a little more understanding and acuity.

أهمية التوعية

مع التركيز على العار والتمييز المحيطين بالصحة العقلية ومن أجل ألا يشعر الناس بالقلق بسبب هذه الأمراض، على المهنيين الصحيين و غيرهم الارتقاء إلى مستوى التحدي الذي تمثله الاضطرابات النفسية والدماغية. ومن هذا المنطلق، تم اطلاق مبادرة،من قبل منظمة الصحة العالمية، تهدف إلى تحفيز الناس على فهم المرض وآثره على المجتمع بشكل أفضل.  وقد اختارت المنظمة “الصحة العقلية” ليكون موضوع يوم الصحة العالمي في  7 نيسان 2001 . يجب إنشاء مبادرات مضاعفة في جميع أنحاء العالم لأن سكان العالم يشيخون.

وتشير الإحصائيات إلى أن هناك حاليا ما يقدر بنحو 24 مليون شخص في العالم يعانون من الخرف. أكثر من 66٪ من هؤلاء الناس يعيشون في البلدان النامية. تتزايد الأرقام أكثر وأكثر كل عام، وبحلول عام 2025 من المتوقع أن يرتفع المعدل إلى ما يقارب 75٪ من الرقم المذكور سابقاً. خلال 22 عاماً سيصاب أربعة وثلاثون مليون شخص بالخرف.

وتشير بعض الإحصائيات إلى ما يقارب ثلاثين ألف حالة ألزهايمر في لبنان. يجب أن يكون ذلك حافزاً لنشر الوعي في جميع المجتمعات. الصمت الذي يحيط بالأمراض العقلية يجب أن ينكسر قبل فوات الأوان. تقدر، في الولايات المتحدة، التكاليف الوطنية المباشرة وغير المباشرة السنوية لرعاية الأشخاص الذين يعانون من مرض الألزهايمر ب 100 مليار دولار على الأقل وفقا للتقديرات المستخدمة من قبل جمعية الألزهايمر والمعهد الوطني للشيخوخة. ووفقا لتقرير صدر عن جمعية الألزهايمر، يكلّف مرض الألزهايمر المشاريع الأمريكية 61 مليار دولار سنوياً. يذكر أن  24.6 مليار دولار تخصّص للرعاية الصحية للألزهايمر و 36.5 مليار دولار تذهب للتكاليف المتعلقة بمقدمي الرعاية للأفراد الذين يعانون من مرض الألزهايمر، بما في ذلك الإنتاجية المفقودة والتغيب واستبدال عامل.

ماذا عن البلدان النامية حيث الخرف هو الأكثر شيوعا؟ يجب تعيين المزيد من الجهود بهذا الاتجاه، نحن بحاجة إلى الارتقاء إلى مستوى التحدي وإعداد مجتمعاتنا لمواجهة الاضطرابات النفسية مثل مرض الألزهايمر مع مزيد من التفهم والاهتمام.