Global Prevalence

In 2004, Alzheimer’s Disease International convened a panel of international experts to review the global evidence on the prevalence of dementia, and to estimate the prevalence of dementia in each world region, the number of people affected, and the projected increases over time. The results were published in the medical journal The Lancet in 2005.

In 2009, The ADI office generated a more recent figure in 2009, based upon the Lancet/ADIestimates. The method included a systematic review of the world literature on the prevalence of dementia. Inclusion criteria included population-based studies of the prevalence of dementia among people aged 60 years and over.

Estimation of numbers of people with dementia

An estimated 35.6 million people worldwide will be living with dementia in 2010.The number is estimated to double every 20 years, reaching to 65.7 million in 2030 and 115.4 million in 2050 (figure 1.)

This poses a major concern, since Alzheimer’s disease and dementia have an enormous impact on societies. Poor recognition, under diagnosis and stigma cause significant problems for people with dementia and their families. (as reviewed in Prince, 2009).


Over the next 20 years, the numbers of people with dementia are anticipated to increase by 40% in Europe, 63% in North America, 77% in the southern Latin American cone and 89% in the developed Asia Pacific countries. In comparison, the percentage increase is expected to be 117% in East Asia, 107% in South Asia, 134-146% in the rest of Latin America, and 125% in North Africa and the Middle East.

انتشار عالمي

انتشار عالمي

عقد الاتحاد الدولي لجمعيات الألزهايمر في عام  2004 اجتماع ضم لجنة من الخبراء الدوليين لمراجعة الأدلة العالمية على انتشار الخرف وتقدير مدى انتشار الخرف في كل منطقة من مناطق العالم وعدد الأشخاص المصابين والزيادات المتوقعة على مر الزمن. ونشرت نتائج الدراسة في مجلة لانسيت الطبية في عام 2005.

وأصدر مكتب الاتحاد الدولي لجمعيات الألزهايمر في عام 2009 رقماً أكثر حداثة بناءاً على تقديرات لانسيت والاتحاد الدولي لجمعيات الألزهايمر. تضمّنت الطريقة مراجعة منهجية للأدب العالمي عن انتشار الخرف كما تضمنت معايير الاشتمال دراسات قائمة على الانتشار السكاني لانتشار الخرف بين الناس الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 60 سنة وما فوق.

تقدير عدد الأشخاص الذين يعانون من الخرف

ويقدر بأنه ما يقارب الـ35.6  مليون شخص في العالم سوف يعيشون مع الخرف في 2010. ويقدّر أيضاً بأن هذا الرقم سيتضاعف كل 20 سنة ليصل إلى 65.7 مليون في عام 2030 و115.4 مليون في عام 2050 (الشكل 1.)

هذا يشكل مصدر قلق كبير، لأن مرض الألزهايمر والخرف لهما تأثير هائل على المجتمعات. يسبب ضعف الإدراك وسوء التشخيص وصمة العار مشاكل كبيرة للأشخاص الذين يعانون من الخرف وأسرهم. (كما استعرض في برينس، 2009).

Graph

من المتوقع على مدى السنوات الـ 20 المقبلة، أن تزيد أعداد المصابين بالخرف بنسبة 40٪ في أوروبا و63٪ في أمريكا الشمالية و77٪ في جنوب أمريكا اللاتينية و89٪ في بلدان آسيا والمحيط الهادئ المتقدمة. في المقابل، من المتوقع أن تكون زيادة النسبة 117٪ في شرق آسيا و107٪ في جنوب آسيا و 134-146٪ في بقية دول أميركا اللاتينية و125٪ في شمال أفريقيا والشرق الأوسط.